Saez Eyes Saudi Cup Jockeys Challenge Prize

Wednesday 08 February 2023

8 February 2023 – Luis Saez is the latest of two jockeys to be confirmed for the International Jockeys Challenge at King Abdulaziz Racecourse in Riyadh on 24 February, the opening day of The Saudi Cup meeting.

Born in Panama, where he rode 37 winners before relocating to the USA, Saez will be returning to the scene of his second in the 1351 Turf Sprint presented by stc aboard Casa Creed last year, and is also set to ride the William Mott-trained seven-year-old once again.

Saez, said: "I'm having a good year so far and am really looking forward to the Saudi trip. The IJC looks like a great group of jockeys, so it should be fun!

"I finished second on Casa Creed in the 1351 Turf Sprint last year and am all set to ride him again in that race, so hopefully he can go one better. The turf was lovely, so I'm pleased to see there are two races on the turf this year in the IJC too."

Saez, who also rode at the inaugural Saudi Cup meeting in 2020, will be joined by leading Brazilian female rider and two-time champion apprentice, Jeane Alves.

Alves became the first woman to win a G1 contest in Brazil, winning the 2015 Grande Premio Jockey Club Brasileiro, and has since gone on to ride across the world, including the UK, UAE, Belgium, Sweden and Macau. The 2023 IJC marks Alves’ first trip to Saudi Arabia.

Alves, said: “I am delighted to be invited to ride in the International Jockeys Challenge at The Saudi Cup meeting. I’m excited to be riding against some of the world’s best Jockeys, like Joao Moreira, who was one of my inspirations when I started, and of course, the legend, Frankie Dettori.”

Each of the four IJC races carry a prize fund of $400,000, with a further $100,000 reward for winning the challenge itself.

The 14 jockeys are made up of seven international female riders, five international men and two local men with the jockeys receiving 15% of prize money won in each of the four races.

Confirmed riders:


Caitlin Jones (AUS)
Chantal Sutherland (USA)
Delphine Santiago (FR)
Victoria Alonso (ESP)
Jeane Alves (BRA)


João Moreira (BRA)
Bauyrzhan Murzabayev (KAZ/GER)
Frankie Dettori (ITY/GB)
Yuga Kawada (JPN)
Luis Saez (USA)


Back to news